FiOS is Coming

Posted on 2008.01.17 (Thursday). Filed under: Entertainment, Hardware, Internet, Optimum Online, Service Providers, Technology, Television, Verizon FiOS | Tags: , , , , , , |

Well, the Verizon FiOS representative just left my home no less than ten minutes ago.

FiOS service will be installed in my home on the 29th of January. Phone, TV, and 20/20 internet.

It came to a total of $200 ±$4-6 per month, incl. all taxes and fees; the price is guaranteed for two years, with a couple things, which may have once been perceived as goodies, which are nowadays almost essentials. (HD boxes, DVR, battery backup for phone–which OOL does not provide–, the installer will stick all the boxes on the televisions.. etc.)

Personally, I’d rather do my own home installation, install my own boxes, configure my own computer, and run my own Ethernet lines. So, we’ll see what happens on the 29th when this guy gets here. I already know where I want the ONT box, and I hope this guy upholds the same standard of workmanship that I do.

fiosontheway

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “FiOS is Coming”

RSS Feed for Fragzem’s Blog Comments RSS Feed

I have a battery back up provided by cablevision for phone service ( 8hrs standby and 6 hrs talk time).

Hey Laura, as you’ve no doubt have already read, I have Cablevision’s phone service right now. I’ve had so many outages lately it’s outrageous. (pun intended). I was unaware that they had a battery back-up, and that’s a good thing to know.. after I make the switch, I have plenty of friends and family who will probably be interested in having one.

My last post about the Giants going to the Super Bowl, shows my loss in service, tho.. and its not due to power-outage, its due to Cabelvision’s service. — I wanted to write that article as soon as the game was over, but I had been without phone and internet service from the first quarter of the game last night all the way until a half-hour before my post. So, from about 7pm all the way until 3am.

I hope you’re happy with your service… I had been, for 10 years now… alas, it’s time to move on.

Thanks for the comment.
-Fragzem


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

